About the Honors Program

Find us on Facebook and Twitter!


Establishing an Honors Program was a long-standing, faculty-driven effort at TAMU-CC. While the university's primary mission has always been to serve the higher education needs of a region that was historically underserved, this same mission meant that university resources were and continue to be directed towards students that struggle to succeed in a university environment. The Honors Program was established in 2005 in an effort to address the educational needs of high achieving students that are often overlooked within that broader mission. The efforts to create the program were led by English faculty member, Dr. Janis Haswell. Desiring an environment where curious and inquisitive students could expand their horizons, Dr. Haswell worked diligently with Provost Sandra Harper, as well as a dedicated committee, to create the Honors Program. Dr Haswell let the program for approximately four years.

The Directorship of the program shifted to Professor of English, Dr. Sharon Talley in 2009 and remained under her leadership until the end of 2010, with Dr. Don Berkich, Associate Professor of Philosophy, taking control of the administration of the Program. Dr. Bilaye Benibo, Professor of Sociology, helped to administer the program during this time as well. Dr. Berkich led the program until 2016. In summer 2017, Dr. Joshua Ozymy, Professor of Political Science, took over the Directorship of Honors. Mrs. Stephanie Box helped administer the program from 2010-14, when Mrs. Elizabeth Shope came to the Program. Honors was originally located administratively within the College of Liberal Arts. It moved under the Division of Academic Affairs and then in 2016 was further located within the Department of Undergraduate Studies.

During the relatively brief history of Honors, our standards have become more rigorous and our students have responded. We have increased our standards of entry from a 2.5 to a 3.5 GPA. The required curriculum has changed from 17 to 21 hours, then 29, and finally 30. Our students are generally the highest achieving students on campus, receiving numerous endowed scholarships and institutional scholarships. Our persistence and graduation rates are significantly higher than the university as a whole (generally above 80% and between 40-50% as opposed to 57% and 17%). Our cohort sizes have stayed reasonable in size, ranging from 25 to 93. Simply put, we have a wonderful program with great students and a lot to recommend us. Please contact us or stop by the Honors Lounge and let us discuss how we can help you meet your full academic potential.


Dr. Janis Haswell




Dr. Sharon Talley




Dr. Don Berkich




Dr. Joshua Ozymy




Mrs. Elizabeth Shope


EShope Thumbnail



The Honors Program is located in Corpus Christi Hall 262, between the student computer labs and the president's office.  We have a large study room/classroom/meeting room that is available to students during the week and weekends.  The room also contains a fridge, a keurig, laptop & desktop computers, a printer, and copier.    

Honors Lounge


The Honors Program is comprised of three different entities: the program itself, the Honors Student Association, and the Honors Council.

The Program is the administrative body, consisting of the Director and Coordinator. Honors is supported by a Chair, Business Coordinator, and Administrative Assistant in the Department of Undergraduate Studies.

The Honors Student Association, or HSA, is the official student organization for Honors.  All Honors students are encouraged to attend meetings and participate in activities.  HSA elects about 20 officers each year and they play an important role in providing opportunities and activities for their fellow students.  HSA meets monthly during the fall and spring semesters.

Honors Council is an advisory body for the Program.  It is comprised of representatives from each academic college, First Year Learning Communities Programs, Divison of Student Engagement and Success, Bell Library, Institutional Advancement, Enrollment Management, as well as 3 student representatives.  Council provides input on all changes to the Honors curriculum, the direction of the program, participates in the selection of new members, and so much more!  The council meets twice a year in fall and spring.


We are a proud member of the National Collegiate Honors Council.

Printer-friendly version       Send by email       PDF version